Pink Coconut Snoballs

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

Well, friends, today is my 19th birthday. I was blessed with the most beautiful weather you could ever imagine, went out to dinner with some great friends, got a surprise visit from my little brother, and even dissected a rat in Anatomy & Physiology lab. Let’s just say the whole rat thing was not the highlight of my day–I came close to vomiting on multiple occasions. However, that’s not the point I’m trying to make here. I’m celebrating the end of 18 and the start of 19.

18 was a good year for me. But by good, I mean quite turbulent. I became an adult my first weekend of my freshman year of college. Everything was so new and exciting. As the year went on, great things happened in my life. I partied, completed the Philadelphia Marathon, met amazing people, kicked ass in school, and became closer with my family than I ever have been in my life. Bad things happened too. My heart was broken by a few different characters, friendships were shattered, and was disappointed by people I really thought I could trust. I guess that’s what life is all about though–the ups AND the downs. However, the only way to move through the years of life in a positive direction is to make sure you don’t let the downs don’t overshadow the ups. That’s probably the most important thing I learned at age 18. I think I’ve really grown up.

Anyway, I wanted to make something really special for my birthday. I’m really proud of myself these days. I’ve been through a lot for a girl that’s only been an adult for a year. Just thinking about how strong I’ve been makes me a little teary-eyed. That’s why I decided to make Snoballs. This is my attempt at a homemade version of the packaged pink balls of artificial Hostess goodness. (Please note, real Snoballs have a chocolate cake, and a cream filling. For the sake of time and my personal preferences, I made a vanilla cake and did not inject a filling.) I loved Snoballs when I was a little girl–I even have pictures of me on my 7th birthday blowing out candles off of a Snoball rather than cake. What can I say, I’ve never been a stickler for tradition. While I haven’t had a real Snoball in years, they still mean something to me. In a way they symbolize what I’ve come from, and making them for my 19th birthday is my way of saying that I’ll never forget who I am and what I once was. I will never lose myself. No matter what “downs” life throws my way. I’ll always be me. I know that sounds queer and is probably really cliche, but don’t make fun of me it’s my birthday. I know 19 is going to be an awesome year, and I am so excited to see what it will bring!

For least messy results, serve on a plate and use a fork to eat. Also, I would just like to formally acknowledge that this is the second pink desert I’ve posted in less than two weeks–the first step is admitting you have a problem, isn’t that what they say?

(Makes 14-16 Snoballs)

1 box vanilla cake mix
2.5 cups coconut flakes
3 drops red food coloring
4 sticks butter, softened
2.5 cup confectioners sugar
1 tsp vanilla
2 tbsp milk
16 oz. marshmallow fluff

1. Prepare cupcakes following instructions on box; do not use cupcake liners, you don’t need them.
2. Once cupcakes are ready, cool, then gently rip or cut off burnt edges around the top of each cupcake.
3. In a small bowl, mix coconut flakes and drops of red food coloring; mix until coconut is an appealing shade of pink.                                                                                          4. In a large bowl, beat butter with an electric hand mixer until light and fluffy.     5. Add confectioners sugar in two parts; beat with mixer until well combined.           6. Add vanilla, milk, and marshmallow fluff; beat with mixer on high speed until smooth and creamy.                                                                                                                       7. Ice all sides of each cupcake, except the bottoms, with marshmallow frosting; roll in coconut flakes immediately, making sure to cover all frosting with the coconut.                                                                                                                                                      8. Place snoballs on wax paper and allow to settle/”harden” for at least 1 hour.      9. Refrigerate for up to 5 days or keep at room temperature for up to 2 days.

Leave a comment